Team Sunergy Places Second at 2023 Formula Sun Grand Prix

Team Sunergy raced from June 30 - July 2 in Topeka, KS at the Electrik Formula Sun Grand Prix. They competed in the MOV (multi-occupent vehicle) competition, and drove for 8 hours a day for a total of 275 laps. The team got second place based on points, however, they completed the most laps and had the highest average speed in the MOV competition. The team also won the Abe Poot Teamwork Award for their amazing chemistry and collaboration as a team! 

Zach Howard is the lead mechanical engineer for the team and a junior in sustainable technology. He told Appalachian Today, "Even though we didn’t win, I couldn’t be more proud of the team. We were given the teamwork award because we were always smiling, laughing and doing whatever we could to help other teams succeed, whether that was offering our expertise, sharing spare parts or even donating our tools. Every team, no matter how hard the competition, wants to see everyone succeed. It truly felt like a family this year."

The team plans to start working on their next-generation car in preparation for the American Solar Challenge (ASC) race in 2024. Team Sunergy completed in the ASC races in 2022 and 2021, where they placed second and first respectively. 

Team Sunergy is housed in both the Office of Sustainability and the Sustainable Technology and Built Environment department. Dr. Lee Ball is the lead administrator, while Chris Tolbert, a faculty member of STBE, is the lead faculty advisor. Dr. Brian Raichle and retired STBE faculty member Ray Sinclair are additional advisors for the team.  Team Sunergy was originally started in STBE in 2013 before moving over to the Office of Sustainability. 

Published: Aug 2, 2023 10:59am