NCMCA Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

Winners of the ninth annual Sigmon Memorial Scholarship were announced on 09 October after a closed jury review of masonry design proposals in the Katherine Harper Hall gallery. The scholarship level winning team of Delaney Marion and Nolan Markovich will split a semester tuition scholarship for the spring 2020 semester for their “Modern Colosseum” proposal.

 Sponsored by the North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association (NCMCA), this scholarship competition gives Building Science students in TEC 4738 Architectural Design Studio III (Professor D. Jason Miller) an opportunity to learn and apply technical knowledge about masonry construction systems by designing an innovative commercial storefront featuring masonry products, means and methods.

 NCMCA President Kent Huntley of Huntley Brothers Company, Inc., Chad Davis of Griffin Masonry, and Chelsea Helms from the Department of Applied Design at Appalachian State served as jurors for this year’s masonry design challenge. These industry experts noted how interesting and imaginative the proposals were, yet pointedly informed students how important constructability and legibility are when designing with masonry products.

 Nine proposals were created for the 2019 competition. Weston Locke and Matthew Panko earned the Crick masonry level recognition for their proposal, “Vented Opacity.” Designed by Mason Hill and Winter Money, “Spinny Brick” received the W. Rose masonry trowel level prize, while Davis Marsh and Angel Martinez received Lufkin masonry rule level recognition for their “Caverna Museum.”

 Congratulations to this year’s winners!

  Note: image provided shows NCMCA officials, faculty, and students involved in this year’s competition.

Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Applicants 2019
Published: Oct 10, 2019 10:44am